~Martyrs of the Alamo~
Writen & Directed by: Christy Cabanne

Based on the novel by Theodosia Harris.

Sam De Grasse ... Silent Smith
Allan Sears ... David Crockett (as A.D. Sears)
Walter Long ... Santa Anna
Alfred Paget ... James Bowie
Fred Burns ... Capt. Dickinson
John T. Dillon ... Col. Travis (as John Dillon)
Juanita Hansen ... Old Soldier's Daughter
Ora Carew ... Mrs. Dickinson
Tom Wilson ... Sam Houston
Augustus Carney ... Old Soldier
Joseph Belmont ... Undetermined Secondary Role (uncredited)
Monte Blue ... Defender of the Alamo (uncredited)
Douglas Fairbanks ... Joe / Texan Soldier (uncredited) (unconfirmed)
Betty Marsh ... Little Girl (uncredited)
Jack Prescott ... Undetermined Secondary Role (uncredited)
Charles Stevens ... Mexican Soldier (uncredited)
~Remaining Credits~

Production Company: Fine Arts Film Company

Distribution Company: Triangle Distributing

Music by: Michael Boldt
Cinematography by: William Fildew
Musical Accompaniment Arranger: Joseph Carl Breil
D.W. Griffith

Length: 5 Reels
Runtime: 71 Minutes
Released: November 21, 1915
~Plot Synopsis~
Supervised by D.W. Griffith, Martyrs of the Alamo was directed by Griffith's loyal but considerably
less inspired assistant William "Christy" Cabanne. The film never lags in its action sequences, notably
the climactic siege of the Alamo. Only in the dramatic scenes does the film cry out for Griffith's
masterful touch. Of interest is the casting of Griffith "regulars" Walter Long, Tom Wilson, Alfred
Paget and John Dillon as, respectively, General Santa Anna, Sam Houston, Jim Bowie and Colonel
Travis. Comedy relief is in the hands of Augustus Carney, the once-popular star of the "Alkali Ike"

Plot Synopsis by Hal Erickson, AllMovie.com